I'm sure you've sent some embarrassing messages that you'd like to withdraw if you could. It seems Meta (formerly Facebook) has decided to help.
A new feature has been added to the popular messaging platform WhatsApp. This feature, which WhatsApp is introducing, will allow messages to disappear at a set time after you’ve sent them. It is very reminiscent of the WhatsApp feature that allows you to unsend messages. But unlike the unsend feature, this new feature will allow you to unsend or delete messages even if you are busy or don’t have your phone close by.
This feature was first launched last November, but it only applied to a single one-on-one chat. However, this has changed and from now on you can use this feature on multiple chats and even in group chats. If you have this feature turned on in a group chat, everyone in the group chat will be notified that you have this feature turned on.
Now you may be wondering, how do I turn on this feature? Well, it turns out to be very simple. Go to the privacy settings in your WhatsApp and tap on the option that is tagged "default message timer". This will activate the feature. Additionally, you can set the timer to delete your messages at a particular time, ranging between 24 hours and a 90-day period.
Also, you shouldn’t be worried about losing your previous chats as a result of activating this feature, since they will not be affected.
While this is a great feature, there is still the possibility of someone taking screenshots of the chat before it is deleted. But that’s a problem for another time. For now, that’s all the information we have regarding this WhatsApp feature. We will continue to bring you updates as they come.
What are your thoughts on this new WhatsApp feature? What other features would you love to see added to WhatsApp? Don’t hesitate to share your thoughts with us in the comment section below.